About Us

Louth Male Voice Choir sings about a dozen concerts each year for the enjoyment of its audiences and its members. The annual summer concert in St James’s Church, Louth is always a great occasion.  The spire dominates the town’s skyline and the church provides a magnificent concert location in addition to its role as a thriving centre for worship and major tourist attraction.

The choir’s repertoire embraces a wide range of musical styles, including light and popular song, traditional British and American tunes and sacred music. In addition, the choir commissions original compositions from local composers. See Repertoire for further information about the current programme.

The choir’s concerts are often used as vehicles for raising money for charities. ScanImage001.jpgIn a typical year the choir helps to raise over £10,000 for a variety of causes.

Over the last decade, the choir has competed regularly and with success at the Eskdale Festival in Whitby and has been awarded high marks in the prestigious Mrs Sutherland competition in Huddersfield together with The Cottingham Festival. In 2009 we competed in the male voice choir competition at Llangollen International Eisteddfod. It has to be said however that its first love is singing for pleasure as opposed to competitions.

Louth Male Voice Choir is a member of the National Association of Choirs; it also has close links with a number of other choirs, most noteably the internationally renowned Albatros male voice choir from Nieuwe Pekela in the Netherlands with which there have been eleven joint concerts on both sides of the North Sea, the last one in Louth, 2013. And it is planed to go to the Netherlands in late 2017 to celebrate Albatros’s 85th.

Louth MVC initiated the East Lindsey Young Musicians Competition in three age groups in 1989.

The choir is run by a committee elected by the members.  The chairmen have been:
1973-1978  Alfred Hermitage
1978-1980  John Vickers
1980-1982  Anthony Horne
1982-1985  David Bryant
1985-1987  Ian Boston
1987-1990  Brian Wood
1990-1993  John Bowen
1993-1995  Robert Whomsley
1995-1998  Barnie Canter
1998-2001  Michael Kerrigan
2001-2003  Malcolm Neal
2003-2011  Alan John
2011-2013  Malcolm Kerridge
2013-2015  Richard Keeble
2015-          Eric Burton