Young Musician Competition


The competition has developed over the last few years into the premier event for many young musicians in historic Lincolnshire. At the same time, it has preserved the original concept, which was to encourage and stimulate a love of performing music and to create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere in which all would feel happy to compete. The annual competition is held on a Saturday in November each year.  Applications are welcomed from instrumentalists, vocalists and ensemble both orchestral instruments and voice, and must be submitted by the 15th of October. The competition is open to young people under the age of 18 on 31 August who either reside in or attend a school in Lincolnshire.
The competition is divided into three age group: Junior, under 11 years of age; Intermediate, under 14; and Senior, under 18.  The format is for preliminary evaluation is by submission of a video.

Exiting new changes to our competition this year, for the first time, we will hold separate competitions for instrumentalists and vocalists.
Following a preliminary round where competitors will be invited to submit a video to the adjudicators, six instrumentalists and six vocalists will be invited to perform on November 11th in Louth.

The prize money, which totals over £2,100, will be awarded equally to both instrumentalists and vocalists.

Entry Forms can be downloaded here:

YMY Entry Form page 1 2023   YMY Entry Form page 2 2023    Video Submission

We depend on sponsorship and donations to provide the financial prizes for the Young Musician of the Year Competition.

Your valuable donation contributes towards the considerable costs of running the Competition
Any donation is welcome


The winners have been:
1989  Linda Broadwell
1990  Rebecca Chambers
1992  Michelle Grierson
1993  Paula Constant
1994  Rovert Caudwell
1995  Andrew Mumby
1996  Naomi Sullivan
1997  Frances Smith
1998  Stephanie Shucksmith
1999  Clare Barker
2000  Kate Fisher
2001  Daniel Patchett
2002  Kirra Tilley
2003  Amy Kent
2005  Eleanor Pike
2006  Clare Hurrell
2007  Emma Barnaby
2008  Alice Spier
2009  Amy Baker
2010  Alex Guthrie
2011  Grace Alexander
2013  Keren Newlove
2014  Juliet Haley
2015  – Only Junior & Intermediate winners – No overall competition winner
2016  Florence Hand
2017 Kira Roberts
2018 Jake Lent
2019 Shivani Jansari
2022 Jaime Wong